Japan Airlines

26Apr08

After going through several different flight options, I’ve finally decided to bite the bullet and book a flight with Japan Airlines.  A lot of the US airline options had some rough layovers (12 hours in San Francisco, for example).  I suppose I wouldn’t mind staying in San Francisco, but it occurred to me that my layover should be in Japan and not in the US; if there was a problem with my connecting flight, at least I’d be in Japan already, rather than still stuck 6000 miles away in the US.  I originally wanted to stop at San Francisco because it would allow me to fly directly into Nagoya, rather than to Narita International (the big airport in Japan).  That way I wouldn’t get lost in a foreign airport.  That plan, however, has changed.  I’ll be flying into Narita with a much shorter layover (2 hrs., 40 min.), after that I board a flight for Nagoya, a mere 180 miles away. The only real downside to this is that I wont land until after 7:20 PM, which isn’t exactly a huge deal, but it’d be a little easier if I got their during the day.   I just hope the jet lag isn’t too rough.

Japan Airlines is considerably more expensive than most (if not all) US airlines.  However, I’ve been told that they have amazing service and great food (even for economy), as well as a pretty sweet inflight entertainment system.  Their fleet is newer as well, and hopefully more comfortable than the ancient 777 I flew on with American Airlines.  Looks like its going to be a 747 this time — hope I get a good seat.



No Responses Yet to “Japan Airlines”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment