72

19Jun08

The days keep flying by, but my departure date still seems too far away. 

I am now absolutely, officially going.  I turned in my last set of forms on Monday.  I have a plane ticket ready.  I have my denshi jisho (electronic dictionary).  The last thing I need is my visa, which I won’t be able to apply for until August.  A visa is what allows you to enter Japan.  Most people enter Japan on a tourist visa, which lasts only 90 days.  My student visa will allow me to stay in Japan for at least a year. 

I’ve also been looking for a decent point-and-shoot camera to bring to Japan.  Even though I’ll be there for a long time, I still want to be able to take pictures to send to people back home.  I’m currently looking at the Canon PowerShot SD870, mainly because of the wide angle lens – I couldn’t find too many other point-and-shoots that had a wide lens, and I’m not in the market for any SLR cameras.  I’m not a huge photography guy or anything, so I don’t really need anything fancier than that.  At first I wasn’t sure about the proprietary lithium ion battery, but I figure with the cost of actual double-A batteries in Japan, maybe it would be better to have the proprietary one. 

Anyway, that’s all for now.  As mentioned before, updates will be more frequent (and interesting!) once I actually get to Japan. 



No Responses Yet to “72”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment